Co-founders: Eddie and Jean Carnall
Co-founders: Eddie and Jean Carnall

We are a group of retired transport workers (mainly from ACTION buses and the Commonwealth cars) and their spouses, who are having fun collecting transport heritage. We are from all corners of the transport industry from drivers, supervisors, mechanics and office staff.

Our aim is to preserve the heritage of transport in and around the ACT and foster friendship among old work mates and retired transport members from other States.

We have certain days of the month to enjoy a bit of fun at our club rooms, and other days to work at sorting out the various boxes of memorabilia that has been collected over the years.

Formation of the club

Former ACTION General Manager Mike Wadsworth played a major role in the foundation of the club. To raise funds for its formation, a social luncheon was held at Eastlake Football Club in early 1990 for ACTION employees. $314 was raised, which enabled the club’s creation. Mike provided a home for the club in the form of a room at the Kingston Depot.

Eddie and Jean Carnall formed the club on 2 November 1990. Eddie wrote to former employees, inviting them and their partners to an inaugural meeting on 12 November 1990. 36 retired employees attended, and elected an inaugural committee

President – Ed Carnall
Secretary – Nelson Simpson
Treasurer – Keith Gladwish

The committee, which co-opted June Redman, Ernie Hamilton and Allan Morick to assist, met to formulate a draft constitution and open a bank account with the sum of $310, donated by the NSW Tram and Bus Workers’ Association.

The club in 2015

The club now resides in White Crescent, Campbell. Membership criteria has been eased, and anyone with an interest in public transport is now welcome to join as a member.